My Not-So-Cute Blog

I have not written anything for several days.  It seems that as soon as I get an idea for a blog post, a child wakes up, another child needs help with homework, another child needs me to drive them to practice, or some household task needs immediate attention.

DSC_0092

I am seeing a trend here.

For a while I have been feeling quite frustrated, even a bit resentful, about this situation.  I see all these mommy bloggers and food bloggers who have amazingly cute blogs, and I have to confess to a bit of jealousy.  I would love to have an attractive layout with fun cartoon-y images, beautiful photography, tabs, menus, etc.

I love visiting these types of blogs.

(Here are a few of my favorites http://www.browneyedbaker.com/,  http://bakeat350.blogspot.com/,  http://thefoodiearmywife.com/,   http://pinkheelspinktruck.com/,  http://www.thehappiesthome.com/,  just to name a few.)

So, you can imagine how discouraged I feel when I can’t seem to find the time to learn all that I would like to know about designing my blog and making it look the way I want.  When I do find time to sit down and work (usually at 5 or 6am on a Saturday morning…eek!) I struggle to decide whether I should be writing or tinkering with the layout.

Searching for tips and ideas, I often get stuck daydreaming in the land of Pinterest and wasting what precious little time I have.

I suppose that I should actually be writing.  I could have the most perfect layout in the “blogosphere,” but without decent content, who the heck will want to stop by, right?

So, for now, I hope you will forgive me for my “not-so-cute” blog and you will still stop by to see what’s going on over here at “Happy Mom, Healthy Mom.”

With that said, if you are a current blogger I would welcome any tips, tricks, links, and/or other bits of advice you have to offer.  Be sure to link to your own blog in the comments!  Thanks for stopping by!

Now, it is 7am, and I have to quit blogging and run one of my kids to track practice!

2 thoughts on “My Not-So-Cute Blog

  1. Thanks for linking to The Happiest Home! Well, all I can say is – in order to have a beautiful site I pretty much have to pay somebody else to do it for me. I don’t have the graphic design skills to do it myself, and since I’m a writer at heart, my time is much better spent writing! But, for the first year or so that I had a blog, I just used a basic free WordPress theme…then when my audience grew and I had a solid base of content, I paid somebody a couple hundred dollars to make me a logo and slapped it on top of the free theme. It wasn’t until a few years had gone by and the site was supporting itself, a big chunk of my full-time job, that I paid somebody to overhaul it completely for me!

    My two cents: If you’re a writer, and especially if you’re a writer with limited time, WRITE. Your words are what will attract people to your blog, and when you feel ready, you can team up with somebody else with other skills to help you make it beautiful.

Leave a Reply

