Victory…and time to get healthy again

V-I-C-T-O-R-Y, Victory, Victory, that’s our cry!

So what the heck am I talking about?  The Saint Patrick’s Day feast from yesterday was a hit!  My husband’s friends all went home stuffed and happy…and not just from the beer 🙂  And I spent the rest of the evening on Cloud 9 after all the compliments I received on the meal.

I know it’s a little thing, but we have to celebrate the “little wins” in life in order to be able to reach up to the larger ones, right?

So, moving right along what is my next goal?  Well, the name of this blog is Happy Mom, Healthy Mom.  So for the sake of integrity, I figure, I ought to be living according to the name.

Health is something that we all have to seek on our own.  We can help each other out, but ultimately, we are responsible for our own health.  I tend to be an “all-or-nohing” kind of girl.  I jump into things (such as diets) with a vengeance and then fizzle out.

 

I had started following a “Paleo” lifestyle a few months back.  It was definitely effective, physically.  I lost weight, had energy, and was feeling pretty confident about how I looked.  But there was something missing.

I am a cook by nature.  It is what I love to do.  It is the thing that I do to relieve stress, to show my family that I love them, and to feed my soul.  But with the Paleo lifestyle, I was missing out on the parts of meal preparation that I love.

With Paleo, food is simply seen as fuel, as a tool.  But I see it as more than that…it is part of the traditions of life, part of family bonding, part of showing love.  (Of course, I am not talking about showing my kids love by tossing them a Happy Meal…THAT clearly is not love…it is laziness and/or lack of planning.)

Even in the Bible, food is the way that God shows us His love.  God gave us manna from the sky, Jesus fed the crowd with just a few loaves and fish, and we Catholics even believe that Jesus gave his very body and blood, soul and divinity to us in the form of bread and wine.

So, while I liked the physical results I was seeing in the Paleo diet, I was missing a big part of my life.  So I gave it up.  Now, on the bright side, I have learned some new ways to prepare vegetables that I had never eaten before, and I have expanded my food repertoire, thanks to the Paleo diet.  I look forward to incorporating these items into my more traditional diet and just living a balanced lifestyle instead of an extreme.

That said, I have to be careful.  Since I decided to let go of “Paleo” I have overindulged in the things I had missed.  So, now I need to just cool down and go back to taking care of myself and my family in a way that is both good for the body and good for the soul.  That way, I can live up to the name “Happy Mom, Healthy Mom.”

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

