The Broken Fridge

Two days ago I came downstairs to the living room and noticed that the refrigerator was making a loud buzzing sound.  I ignored it.  I grabbed a cup of coffee and plopped myself down on the couch to do my normal reading/writing/email-checking before the rest of the family wakes up.

I went about the rest of my day running errands, going to lunch with friends, and helping kids after school with homework.  By 6pm, when I went to pull some ice out of the freezer, I discovered a problem.  There was no ice…only water in the ice trays.  I started feeling around in the freezer and sure enough, everything was nearly thawed.

I frantically started moving frozen foods to the chest freezer that we keep in the garage and loading up the cooler with dairy and lunch meats from the refrigerator.  All the while, I was grumbling about how I had just spent $300 at the grocery store, but also thanking God that we had the other freezer to see us through.

Fortunately, my landlord is extremely responsive, and within a few hours we had a workman out to the house.  Yep, a new fridge was in order.  It will be delivered today.  And I am really excited.

This was actually a good thing.  It forced me to go through the fridge and get rid of those items that have been lurking in the background that needed to be removed.  With a move on the horizon, this was just what I needed.

OK, so this blog post isn’t earth-shattering.  It’s not going to change anyone’s life.  But it allowed me to put off folding laundry for a little while.  It was nice while it lasted.  Now, here I go… back to the salt mines!

Leave a Reply

